NEF Home‎ > ‎



The NEF awarded over $58,000 to the following Northmont graduating seniors in 2017.  These recipients were selected as follows:  The NEF appoints a selection committee from its trustees.  All scholarship applications submitted are assigned a number by the HS Guidance office to maintain their anonymity.  Once completed, the applications are delivered to the scholarship selection committee.  The committee is comprised of professionals; including retired educators, businessmen and women, and individuals from the Northmont community.  Most of our committee members have served many years and have a great deal of experience in our process.  The applications are screened to make sure all scholarship criteria is met.  They are then reviewed for content and ranked by the committee.  students who are selected are contacted via regular mail.  Their scholarship is awarded to them on Senior Recognition night in May.

Congratulations to all our 2017 scholarship recipients!!
College Major
Melissa  Barrett Ohio University Chemistry
Matthew  Bridenbaugh Cincinnati Christian University Sports Management
Ethan  Burrage Wright State University Electrical Engineering
Kara  Combs Wright State University Industrial and Systems Engineering
Rebecca  Cooper Sinclair Community College Liberal Arts in Science
Tyler  Defibaugh Edison State Comm. College Education
Haley  Embry Sinclair Community College Special Education
Michael  Espy Sinclair Community College Education
Taylor Evans University of New Mexico International Business
Emma  Finch University of Dayton Psychology
Rylee  Fitzgerald Wright State University Music Education - Vocal
Joshua  Garver Liberty University, Virginia Global Studies
Madison  Glass Wright State University Biological Sciences
Chase  Griesheimer Ohio State University Sports Medicine
Tabatha  Hanna Liberty University, Virginia Forensic Science
Kirsten  Hardin Blufton University or Edison University  Undecided
Kiani  Hayes Sinclair Community College Education
Alissa  Hernandez Bowling Green State University Psychology
Kyle  Lewis Wright State University Mechanical Engineering
Emma  Markland Ohio State University Criminal Studies
Megan  McKarns Wright State University Spanish & International Studies
Abigail  Mergler Ohio State University Biology
Lanora  Mitchell Western Kentucky University Nursing
Madyson  Myers University of Dayton Adol to Young Adult Education
Macy  Newburg University of Dayton Biology
Tomee  Norris University of Cincinnati Biochemistry
Ashlee  Oldham University of Dayton Finance
Kellen  O'Shea University of Cincinnati Mechanical Engineering
Michael  Phillips Sinclair Community College Mechanical Engineering
Claire  Pilgrm University of Cincinnati Nursing
Christopher  Prysock University of Dayton Discover the Arts/Undeclared
Jessica  Saini Wright State University Biological Sciences
Justin  Schuh University of Dayton Engineering
Jonathan  Sherman Ohio Northern University Construction Management
Holly  Souther Wright State University English/Journalism
Abigail  Spirk Wilmington College Early Childhood Education
McKenzie  Stefanoff Wright State University Biological Sciences
Krista  Tunstall University of Cincinnati Criminal Justice
Paige  Waterman Wright State University Biomedical Engineering w/Pre-med
Nathan  Webb School of Advertising Art Graphic Design
Nicholle  Weidner University of Cincinnati Secondary Education
Kydall  Wilson University of Cincinnati Psychology
Christian  Wilson University of Dayton Mechanical Engineering

Current Northmont seniors should see their high school guidance counselor in February to obtain an application for a NEF scholarship.

Current Named Scholarships
Harry Blome, Jr.
This scholarship is awarded based on the student's overall performance.  Mr. Blome was an alumnus of the Randolph High School, class of 1947.
Vernon Brown Memorial
Awarded to a student who attended Phillipsburg Elementary.
Dan Carlisle Academic & Football
Awarded to a participant in the Northmont High School Football Program with, preferably, at least a 3.2 GPA.  Dan was a Northmont student that lost his battle with Cancer in 1996.
Class of 1990/1998/2002/2008/2012
Awarded to a graduating senior who served as a class officer.
Consolidated Freight
Awarded preferably to a student whose parents/grandparents were employed by Emery Worldwide.
Richard Dill & Family
Awarded to a student who will pursue a degree in education or a health related field.
Adam Robert (A.J.) Johnson
Awarded in the memory of A.J. Johnson, a Northmont Graduate and soccer player.
James Krueckeberg
Created in memory of Jim Krueckeberg, who came to Northmont in 1973 and was the principal at Northmont Middle School for ten years.
Dr. Gale T. Mabry & Family
Awarded to a student pursuing a career in public education who has demonstrated the qualities of respect, responsibility, and citizenship with strong consideration given to student's financial need.
Sally Murphy
Awarded to a student that has been involved in school activities, organizations, athletics, and community programs.  Ms. Murphy is a retired Northmont teacher who spent 40 years in education.
Northmoor Elementary
Awarded to a student that attended Northmoor.
Awarded based on financial need.
Dr. Robert Rankin
No special criteria.
Eloise C. Rosser
Awarded to a student who will pursue a degree in English or Theatre.
Northmont Soccer Parent Association
Awarded to a maximum of 4 male & 4 female soccer players. Recipients completed 100% of each soccer season with Northmont. Based on an essay completed by recipients.
Robert Spiller Family
Awarded to a student selected by the Spiller family.  Spiller was a former board member, teacher, and principal at O.R. Edgington.
Tom Walker, Stl, NJROTC
Awarded to a student who is a member of the ROTC program, has a 3.0 GPA and show the qualities: determination, ambition, motivation, and a hard worker.
Sharon Walker
Awarded to a student with a 3.0 GPA and is involved in school and community activities.
Jennifer Webb
Awarded in Jennifer's memory.  She was a Northmont Graduate and an Ohio University graduate who lost her life in a car accident.
Richard Whistler
Awarded to a student who hopes to become an educator or who is active in the music or drama programs.  Mr. Whistler was the superintendent of Northmont for 17 years.
Yoakum Family
Yoakum Family CTC
Awarded to a Northmont student at MVCTC and pursuing a technical career and the other to a student pursuing a four year degree.
Coach Bill Yensel
Awarded to a member of the varsity basketball team and is pursuing a college education or a technical degree.  Bill Yensel was a basketball coach for Northmont for over 20 years.

Anne Marie Phillip
Awarded in memory of Anne Marie Phillip who was a teacher at O.R.Edgington.  No special criteria.

Awarded to a student with a 3.25-3.75 GPA, is involved in school/community activities and has financial need.

Northwood PTO
Awarded to one female and one male student who attended Northwood Elementary and has worked hard to accomplish much during their high school years.

Wanda Adams & Dawn Wojcik Scholarship
Awarded to a student who served as a NHS Peer Facilitator or was a member of 'Dash of the Pen'. Maintained a 2.5 GPA and is pursuing a degree in Education or Liberal Arts.

Mary Alice Newbauer Music Scholarship - Awarded to a student who will pursue a degree in Music and/or Education, was actively involved in a music discipline and received at least one high school music credit while in high school.

Resilience ScholarshipEstablished by Heather Linder as a way to acknowledge the resilience of special needs students and how hard these students have to work in order to achieve their goals.

WeeBolt Football & Cheerleading Scholarship - Awarded to 1 male & 1 female who participated at least 3 years in WeeBolts.